Tuesday, December 12, 2017

HiFi Envelope - Transitional Objects



I love exploring cassettes that are a challenge to review. Not to mention, to review briefly. If I keep waxing on about this, I will fill up this space with words without actually having to describe Transitional Objects.

Brian Lee is HiFi Envelope & he takes us on a sonic path from bubbling synth melodies to faux pop instrumentals. Side B is particularly beguiling, lifting off with a shimmering glow into the ionosphere then back to earth with a mellow denouement of bells & branches. The total scope of Transitional Objects is geometrical and geographical; moments of delight are scattered among moments of curiosity. Beauteous, bright, seriously calm, unwavering intensity. This is a trip worth signing up for. Headphones recommended.

https://hifienvelope.bandcamp.com/album/transitional-objects-2

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Ha-Ha Mart: Family Denim



Artist: Ha-Ha Mart          
Title: Family Denim
Noumenal Loom  / 2017


In the past decade, interest in production library, test card, classroom projects, and even music for adverts (commercials!) has mushroomed, paving the way for a whole new generation of soundtrack-loving musicians with an offbeat sensibility. Vic Mars comes to mind as one of these neo-pioneers, and now Drew Price (Ha-Ha Mart). Family Denim fits like a comfy pair of jeans – there’s bubbling synths, soft guitars, rhythmic basslines, snappy melodies & even a dose of jazzy funk. This cassette plays over & over on my drives back & forth to work. With winter coming on, it’s a ray of musical sunshine. 

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Pleasure Systems - Antumbra Pull


Artist: Pleasure Systems               
Title: Antumbra Pull
Antiquated Future  / 2017

Rhythmic, hypnotic, a journey into the interior. Lyrics & melodies bubble into the subconscious – this may be murky territory that invades your dreams. Two tracks had me bristling, on the edge of my seat as I drove home this evening. “(Bathroom Stall) Prayer” with the line in a year I’ll learn to cry, you’re befriending all the shadows in the corners of my mind and the sheer shimmering hauntology (perfectly titled “Haunt Me” press your palms into my open mouth, push the sound out. Antumbra Pull is a space folk journey of the highest order.


Garbus and Bissette


Artist: Ruth Garbus / Danny Bissette       
Title: Split EP
Label / Year: OSR


There’s something charming (but slightly overpriced) about this EP from Ruth Garbus (of Feathers, etc) and Danny Bissette, denizens of Brattleboro VT. Ruth’s two tracks brim with ethereal vocals and layered meaning, Danny’s tracks are inventive, homemade, off-key. Rather than contrasting, these tracks blend into a cohesive whole and the tape is over way too quickly. This was released on the semi-defunct OSR label – a record label that I love for its and make-you-own-music-scene spirit. Good luck finding a copy of this one. 

Friday, October 27, 2017

Illuminated Paths 451




Artist: Whalez X Cobra
Title: Midnight Sounds / Dystopian Future
Label / Year:  Illuminated Paths  / 2017

It’s nearing midnight. You find an abandoned cassette player in the street, tape still running. There’s drama in the humid air. Maybe a hint of adventure. Yet the batteries are running down, and from a passing vehicle you hear the static of a forgotten radio. The red pulse of a radio tower shimmers in the distance. Is this a novel of your own invention? It’s Y2K & all those technical difficulties are melting like a chalkdust Dali scrawled upon the sidewalk. No worries – there’s a lunar spa and a beautiful garden just on the other side of that clockface.

Unplug your TV. Listen to this instead.


Thursday, October 19, 2017

Ajai - Golden Gate Demos


Artist: Ajai
Title: Golden Gate Demos
Label / Year:  Self released / 2017

After being immersed in Chance, For Us I decided to investigate Ajai’s Golden Gate Demos. This is a collection of paired down acoustic songs that seem to have been recorded on a lo-fi cassette recorder in one take in the park, reminiscent of of Michelle Shocked’s Texas Campfire Tapes. With birds & crows for an audience, Golden Gate Demos feels like an anachronism, an antidote to a music industry run amok. But of course this is no industry – it is DIY magic. Two tracks stand out in this collection: Give In and The Fall Of Night. The rest of the tape meanders from SSW folk to frightening melancholy dirges.  



Thursday, October 12, 2017

Bubblegum Best - some soon day


Artist: Bubblegum Best
Title: some soon day
Label / Year:  Freaks / 2017

Cool home-taping indie pop goodness with an experimental edge. Bubbling synths, mellow vocals, Jandekian guitars, hints of banjos (?), all filtered through the dappled sunlight of an autumn afternoon. Is that the moon on the horizon? Twelve strong tracks that culminate in the life affirming “A Real Love”. Released in an edition of 50 on clear tangerine cassettes.Gorgeous in every aspect.


Ajai - Chance, For Us



Artist: Ajai
Title: Chance, For Us
Label / Year:  Self-released 2017

Life, love, loss … circular memory, musings on interior distances, sweeping cinematic midnights. Simple yet profound lyrics. Floydian slips. None of this really scratches the surface of Chance, For Us which wrestles with mortality and ephemeral relationships through songscapes & soundscapes that are stunning in their originality. In particular, the drumming on this cassette (courtesy of  Alan Mctavish) feels unique and cathartic. By the end of this journey, the sparse hymnlike Move, the listener has been moved – from where to where?


Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Soft Pastels - No Loss




Artist: Soft Pastels
Title: No Loss
Label / Year:  Sination / 2017

No Loss but increasing gain through listening to this brief yet musically generous seven track cassette. Timeless indie pop / rock that spans musical generations, with several tracks echoing the best tunes of the Abecedarians or For Against. Highly recommended for your autumn playlist!


Sunday, September 24, 2017

Forest Fallows - At Home



Artist: Forrest Fallows
Title: At Home
Label / Year:  PIAPTK

Acoustic folk lounge samba indie pop? Forrest Fallows is the musical project of Mike & Alex. What they have created is the strongest debut record in recent memory, with nods to the Clientele & other indie mapmakers. Birdsong weaves in & out of At Home like clouds dissipating on a sunny day. The songs approach perfection but never veer into predictability. At Home is like having a favorite record the first time you listen. Released in cassette, vinyl & cd. I’m going to have to buy the vinyl just to have the bonus track!


Saturday, September 9, 2017

Nick Keeling - Black Diamond Eulogy



We live in an era of overdubbing, multi-tracking, auto-tuning and studio trickery, and often what is missing from recordings is the soul of music. Nick Keeling has crafted a loving, expansive tribute to the America that we have lost in the past century - a prosperous, industrious era where communities thrived and mattered. Weaving vintage recordings & sound effects into these solo piano pieces, Nick brings the rusting cities of Lima, Cleveland, Detroit, Buffalo & others alive in sound - music that sounds like it was frozen in time decades ago on a portable cassette recorder. Black Diamond Eulogy is beautiful, haunting and mysterious as the reflections of these communities fade into memory.

https://nickkeeling.bandcamp.com/album/black-diamond-eulogy

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Something//Something - Winter Pattern



Artist: Something//Something
Title: Winter Pattern
Label / Year:  MTR 2015

New Hampshire has never been known as a hotbed of indie rock or cassette culture, but that must be changing with projects like The Journals Kept going strong. When hunting for New Hampshire based music I was pleasantly surprised to find Winter Patterns by Something//Something via Bandcamp. This cassette opens and closes with bird song, and moves from one strong song into another, with gorgeous shoegaze instrumentals, nods to purveyors of the ‘90s yet wholly original. Even the track After Midnight (Drunk Tongue) grew on me as what felt like a claustrophobic song builds to a guitar crescendo. Highly recommended.



Thursday, August 17, 2017

Abandoned Houses - Untitled Spirals




Artist: Abandoned Houses
Title: Untitled Spirals
Label / Year:  Rok Lok 2013


I love how simple yet artistic the presentation of this cassette EP is: kraft paper box, homemade insert, rubber stamp. Mike Ciaravino is Abandoned Houses, and these songs were recorded on lo-fi equipment in 2012 and 2013. There’s mostly paired down acoustic guitar, it isn’t until the fourth piece “Count To Zero” (which sounds like it features a Magnus electric chord organ like the one I played as a child) that there might be some overdubbing involved. Straight-up folk for the second decade of what is shaping up to be a rough century. Mike says "Obsessed and inspired by places that are desolate, abandoned, falling apart and being reclaimed by nature. I travel around wherever I am and write and record music in the places I find, capturing a collective essence in recordings and photographs. They are all unique and contribute in different ways to the music and sounds I create." Untitled Spirals is a perfect slice of homemade indie folk. 

Sunday, August 13, 2017

Jonathan Rager - Distance of Light



Artist: Jonathan Rager
Title: Distance of Light
Label / Year:  Self Released 2017

Beauteous gold cassette limited to 25 copies! And I am fortunate to have one! The eleven instrumentals on Distance of Light all blend perfectly into an organic whole. Guitar shadings with echoes of music that might have been released on Independent Project Records back in the day. Glorious shoegaze, drifty solos, wonderful for a sunny drive to your next destination.


Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Loner Deluxe - Songs I Taped Off The Radio



Artist: Loner Deluxe
Title: Songs I Taped Off The Radio
Label / Year:  Rusted Rail 2017


Set the controls for the heart of the moon. Keith Wallace is the creative presence behind Loner Deluxe, and has produced a generous tape that weaves through the museum of synth-pop like it’s 1989. Immersing in this cassette is like listening to shortwave radio signals drifting from an alternate universe through an open window at midnight. Songs I Taped Off The Radio is a musical journey complete with hazy guitars, heavenly voices era female vocals and ethereal sound samples, all winding toward an unexpected climatic sunny folk freakout. Inventive, and genius. 


Saturday, August 5, 2017

A Magic Whistle: Vision Magic Voyage



Artist: A Magic Whistle
Title: Vision Magic Voyage
Label / Year:  Weird Ear 2013


Andy Puls lives in an imaginative universe. I imagine him tinkering with home-built instruments, emerging every fortnight from a hobbit dwelling to sing to the moon. Vision Magic Voyage plays like a lo-fi Tubular Bells, in fact there are many tubular bells chiming throughout this wonderful opus. There’s plenty of wonderful whistling, too. Quirky doesn’t even begin to describe the melodious journey through these two extended pieces. Is it folk music? New age? Psychedelic? Who knows. Music as unique as this can not be labelled. Immerse and enjoy.  



Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Kevin Krauter - Magnolia




Artist: Kevin Krauter
Title: Magnolia
Label / Year:  Winspear 2015

Magnolia is a collection of six almost perfect songs by Kevin Krauter. There’s introspection, country-tinged rock, paired down acoustic folk, all feeling immediate and intimate. You might hear hints of Fleet Foxes in moments while listening, which got my attention rather than making this tape seem derivative. Definitely a cassette to revisit often.

Personal Favorite Tracks: Lazy River; Timepiece


Saturday, July 22, 2017

Summer Rental - Stay Gold




Artist: Summer Rental (Garrett Douglas)
Title: Stay Gold

Label / Year:  self released  2017

Oh my stars! Fifty years after the summer of love we have the summer of cassette love  – music that resonates down the ages. Performing as Summer Rental, Garrett Douglas has created an EP of stunning songscapes. Some of these tunes would have been right at home on an Independent Project Records release back in the day, and some shimmer with echoes of bands like The Clientele. Glorious heartfelt songs to wear out your tape heads.

Personal Favorite Tracks: Sunburns; Be My Rushmore; Washington; Tell Me Why (that’s all of them, folks!)  


Friday, July 14, 2017

Rootless - Sculptures Deep Within The Cave



Artist: Rootless
Title: Sculptures Deep Within The Cave
Label / Year:  Cabin Floor Esoterica  2017

Solo acoustic guitar in a very cool edition of 100 cassettes packaged in a small chipboard box with inserts.  Beautifully written and/or improvised meditations that drift and flow with structure and silence.  

Personal Favorite Tracks: Green Mountains, Blue Skies; Blue Skies, Green Mountains; Music In the Trees



Sunday, July 9, 2017

The Journals Kept: War Trails




Artist: The Journals Kept              
Title: War Trails
Label / Year: CassetteLand 2017


Though it is high summer, these may be dark times for those of us who work indoors, in offices, away from the redeeming warmth of the sun. Music keeps us connected with the threads of humanity within. Threads of shadow, and threads of hope weave through these 16 tracks, a generous cassette release from The Journals Kept (Faith & Paul Vittum). The Journals Kept hail from rural New Hampshire, and in moments the songs and sounds on War Trails seem hedged in. We’re often unable to see the horizon through the dense forests here in the North, and as a result we are forced to look inward. These songs are self-reflective in the finest sense, not mere intellectual exercises, always bordering upon the spiritual sphere of experience.  

Musically, War Trails also borders upon perfection, full of keyboards, crunchy guitars, and exceptional drumming. In an era where nothing in this world is what it seems, or what it means, we’re able to delve into our journals and journeys with a creative fire. War Trails is a soundtrack, and a gift, for our voyages, both internal and external.

Personal Favorite Tracks: Doors of Ireland, Goodbye (great blue whale), Boys at War, Northern Sounds, Nothing in this world, Keys to the City.





Monday, February 6, 2017

Grassroots Reflections February 2017



Grassroots Reflections is a Cooperative Press Association journal published four times a year by Arnold Hollander. Arnold proposes a theme, and invites contributors to use their creativity to write poems, essays and fiction based upon the theme. February's theme was "Tradition"  & includes a plethora of perspectives from six writers (including your intrepid blogger.) My favorite piece in Grassroots Reflections Number 41 is a story exposing small yet profound family moments in At The First Seder. A generous selection of well-crafted poetry is offered by Judy Turek that explores Christmas, Oral Tradition, and even the Death of Decency. There is also a travelogue recounting a San Francisco Journey as experienced by Arnold and Barbara Hollander complete with color photography. Bias warning: I am a regular, enthusiastic participant in Grassroots Reflections. That said, I urge readers to check out a sample copy. You are unlikely to be disappointed. For more information write to Arnold at 1598 Old Mill Road Wantagh NY 11793-3237. Yes this is an offline, papernet journal! 

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Freedom APA

Freedom APA

is an alternative Amateur Press Association with one expectation: participate where, when and how you are able.

Four bundles will be mailed per year. The next mailing is scheduled for February 2016.

Annual Membership: $14 for US; $22 for rest of world plus a minimum of one bundle item inclusion per membership year. Bundle items may include mail art, homemade journals, chapbooks, zines, cds, cassettes, envelopes, bookmarks, letters, or whatever you choose.

Membership dues may be sent via Paypal: singinggrove@conknet.com
Checks may be made payable to: Frederick Moe 36 West Main Street Warner NH 03278.

Freedom APA is intended to be fun & embrace the spirit of personal journalism, zine making, letter writing, graphic arts, mail art, DIY printing, poetry, homemade music, creative projects, podcasting & more. Freedom APA is not an organization nor will Freedom APA have officers or by-laws.


With your help, I plan on making this an enjoyable APA mailing circle full of creativity.  Freedom APA is a postal-only activity and does not currently have an online presence other than this posting. Thank you! 

Saturday, November 7, 2015

73s From the Evergreen State



Here is a zine / book / pamphlet that rocks my eclectic sense of wonder - 73s from the Evergreen State by Jordan Smith, published by Public Collectors, a visual tour into the world of CB Radio QSL cards.

I have a collection of shortwave QSL cards from international and pirate shortwave stations I have heard over the years - but CB Radio QSLs? Where was I back in the day? And why wasn't I on CB? Fascinating glimpses here into the personalities of the public airwaves with cards from numerous artists. A must read for any radiohead.

http://73sand88s.com/

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Cassette Review: Unableto by David Thomas Broughton



Unableto
David Thomas Broughton
Antiquated Future

Visually, this is a stunning and beautiful release with an emerald cassette and a glassine, vellum insert. Musically, Unableto is a journey through the wasteland of the psyche. I wish this tape had a lyric sheet included. I also wish there was less squelch & noise and more clarity – there is melodious, seething life here which needs to be heard. About ¾ of the way through the journey, Unableto becomes a proggy new age instrumental. Intrigue abounds. 

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Cassette Review: Tucker Theodore


Tucker Theodore
To Make the Sun Hurt cassette
available from antiquatedfuture.com

This incident might be from another lifetime. Perhaps it was sometime in the 1990’s. A man in the apartment next door is fiddling with an amplifier and an old tape recorder. You hear his howls through the wall. Maybe he’s been listening to Bonnie Prince Billie. Maybe he’s secretly Jandek. You don’t know him very well, you mumble "hi" to him at the mailbox & don’t make eye contact. At one point he starts whistling along with the thrum of his guitar. His voice sounds like it’s echoing out of a coal mine. The batteries run down in the tape recorder and he stops singing. You’re not sure what you just overheard, yet it haunts you like surrealistic dreams of clouds. 

Saturday, October 24, 2015

Where You From #4


Where You From #4
News from Home
New Hampshire in the 80’s

Review: Hope has created another absorbing issue of Where You From, forty pages of histories and reminiscences of growing up in the Granite State, my place in the world. Through several chapters, Hope documents her recollections and impressions of the Challenger space shuttle disaster, the police brutality against Rodney King, an out-of-control murder of a local family man by police in Hudson, Ram Dass in New Hampshire, and more. Peppered throughout are grainy black & white images that perfectly accentuate the histories that Hope explores. Where You From #4 is a lovely and provocative zine.

Commentary: I grew up in and have lived 99% of my life within the geographic boundaries we call New Hampshire. Though I was a young adult with three children during the era that Hope describes, it is almost as if we lived in two different states and two different times. I grew up in southern New Hampshire and was acutely aware of the social injustices going on both nationally and next door. Most of my family’s friends were non-white, non-wealthy, and some were non-neurotypical. Where Hope states that “…this is why we get out, to see a bigger picture, to understand more …” I think: this is why some of us stay (in New Hampshire) or in our home towns … because the bigger picture is not outside of us, somewhere else, it is within our hearts.


email for more information: gutwrenchpress@gmail.com 

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Bizarrism 14


Each edition of Bizarrism is an inclusive, bordering on encyclopedic, compendium of true (and bizarre!) stories from around the world. For fourteen issues Chris Mikul has reported on topics are diverse as Sea Monkeys, The Shaggs, and the Mystery of the Somerton Man. Chris approaches his work as a journalist in a scholarly manner. His articles and essays brim with information, and are pointers to elements of history that often escape our notice.

Issue #14 includes articles on the debauched world of Francoise Dior, the religious empire of Sun Myung Moon, and the strange rise of atheism and Madelyn Murray O’Hair. Chris also explores the legacy of Philippine dictator Ferdinand Marcos. Mikul also delves into the fascinating world of prolific graphic artist / would-be soul musician Mingering Mike, and reviews Jim Elledge’s book Henry Darger, Throwaway Boy: The Tragic Life of an Outsider Artist.

For more information write to:

Chris Mikul
PO Box K546
Haymarket NSW 1240

Australia

Sunday, June 28, 2015

How to Make Radio #2


How to Make Radio #2
by Julie Sabatier
destinationdiy.org


Julie is a veteran radio producer creating shows and segments for community and public radio stations. Julie’s zine is clear, concise, and an excellent orientation to developing audio for radio or podcasting. Topics covered in this zine include your radio voice, editing audio, creative commons music, and funding your show / podcast. Some of the technical information in How to Make Radio #2 may be outdated (tips on using software and recording using iPhone devices). The downside of this zine is that Julie seems to be a shill for NPR podcasts, which are sometimes creative but more often formulaic and dependent upon pleasing corporate funders. Still, everyone is entitled to an opinion (and that’s ye old zine reviewer’s!). How to Make Radio #2 is available from Portland Button Works.

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

OSR Catalog #1 Spring 2015

Zach Phillips has taken his music company (OSR) offline & produced an actual paper catalog of OSR releases. Be still my beating heart! And ... the catalog doubles as a zine with numerous contributors commenting on the brave move of taking a music label offline in the digital age and useful descriptions of available releases. OSR offers vinyl, cds and cassettes from New England based artists that include the prolific songwriter Chris Weisman, folk-psych magician Ruth Garbus, CE Schneider Topical & other bands you need to discover if you haven't already! Send a buck or two or a self-addressed stamped envelope (with two ounce postage) to: Zach Phillips PO Box 370352 Brooklyn NY 11237-0352

Saturday, May 9, 2015

Thrifty Times #27



Thrifty Times is a monthly zine published by Sarah MacDonald in Allston MA. Each issue explores Sarah's favorite thrift finds. If clowns make you nervous, read no further! Just kidding. Most issues of Thrifty Times have a "theme" and the March 2015 theme is clowns. Sarah launches the issue with her customary Dear Readers section, then unveils a creepy clown pillow, hand stitched by someone with the initials CSS. Nick Burgess discusses the book "The Book of American Types" discovered at a thrift shop, and there's a review of the LP "The Klowns" in the Record Roundup Section. Sarah also reviews ten comedy LPs scored at thrift shops. Every edition of Thrifty Times is well written and a lot of fun to read. Recipes! Games! Comics! Romance books! What's not to love? Now get thee to a Goodwill ... and find me a shofar!

www.thriftyzine.com 

Saturday, May 2, 2015

Free magazine offer!


Even if you are not an aficionado of opera, The Opera Glass, edited by Iris Arnesen, is a beautiful and informative journal that is both educational and completely absorbing. Each issue features a wealth of information opening into the world of opera, theater, music and literary arts. I won't ramble on extolling the virtues of this gorgeous journal, I'd prefer that you discover The Opera Glass for yourself. For a limited time, if One Minute Zine Review readers send $2 for postage I will send you a sample issue of The Opera Glass. If you enjoy this journal, subscriptions from Iris are free (though donations are helpful). See you at the mailbox. 

Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Secret Order of the Caboose


Caboose #9
Masons On Masons:
How to Start a Secret Society
By Liz and Joe Mason
48 pages / half-letter / $3
PO Box 477553
Chicago IL 60647

Recently ye olde zine reviewer has embarked upon learning about what is behind the social / political veils in our culture – particularly the role played by underground yet hidden in plain sight groups like the Freemasons. Such research could spiral into a lifetime of diversions – there are so many groups, so little time. Therefore, when I spotted Caboose #9 Masons On Masons: How to Start a Secret Society at the venerable Antiquated Future website, I ordered it without hesitation.

Written in a style that is both smart & smart-ass, the Masons may give you some ideas about how to create your own nerdy group, order, lodge, happening, etc. All of the bases are covered: groundrules, membership, language, mirthful activity and even secret handshakes. Yet what I had hoped to find here was more actual substance about Freemasonry, The Illuminati (though reading about its book-club origins was intriguing), and other elites & followers of our day that seem to wield power and influence in our bizarre and unwieldy culture. For example: who were the Oddfellows and am I related to them?

Ok, I’m off to organize the Freemen of Kearsarge Mountain Lodge. I’d tell you when & where the first meeting is, but then I’d have to kill you.

Did the NSA just read this? I’m fucked.

Monday, April 13, 2015

Proof I Exist #19



Proof I Exist #19 is the latest in a series of zines created by Billy, turning the paper camera on events and happenings in his life. Issue #19 is a time capsule from January 2015 when Billy pranked Albuquerque with a groceries on the car roof trick, played a punk rock gig with his band, and invented Zinester Trading Cards. And that’s just for starters! Billy writes Proof I Exist in a friendly, creatively honest, engaging style – he packs a lot of living in each day and invites us along to be the artists of our own lives. For more information on Proof I Exist check out:  
https://www.etsy.com/listing/222822877/proof-i-exist-19?ref=shop_home_active_5

Monday, March 9, 2015

Cunieform APA update

Cuneiform APA: Collecting Unique Notes Expressing Ideas For Original Reading Material. Cuneiform APA is open to anyone who participates by sending up to 4 pages on a tri-quarterly basis. Due dates for Cuneiform are February 1, June 1, October 1. Mail out of each edition will occur during February, June and October. Contributors are welcome to send up to 4 double-sided printed 8 X 11 pages of original material related to the following topics:  Zines & Zine Reviews Micro journals and presses Issues related to paper publishing / publishing in general in the digital age Obscure and lesser known books, authors, zines, and music, DIY, letters and writing / Postal service / Mail art & other topics related to philosophy, reading, life, liberty, the universe, & everything. Poetry or fiction at the discretion of the Official Editor. The Official Editor decides whether material submitted is thematically relevant for the APA. The current (interim) Official Editor is Frederick Moe. Please mail 40 copies of your material to 36 West Main Street Warner NH 03278. Copies of Cuneiform will be mailed to each participant who contributes material and a few dollars toward mailing costs.

Sunday, October 12, 2014

Primitive Toothcare


This is a brief introduction to oral hygiene written by Rowan Walking Wolf for dental care without toothpastes, toothbrushes, and modern chemicals. When fluoride and other compounds in our water, toothpaste, and products are making us ill, we need to reclaim our health in whatever ways possible.
Primitive Toothcare: A DIY Guide to Uncivilized Oral Hygiene shows how to use widely available plants for their astringent properties to clean, soothe, and heal teeth and gums.  Say goodbye to the dentist and hello to self care that is proven to be effective at preventing cavities and gum disease. Excellent resource available via sproutdistro.com .

Friday, August 22, 2014

Zine Review: Red Kitty Volume Two


A few decades ago, writer Margot Adler chronicled the new American pagan movement in her book Drawing Down the Moon. Scores of zines like Green Egg promoted new thought and new spirituality. It seemed as if we as a culture might dawn into an age of Aquarius.

Perhaps I am jaded, but it feels like now (2014), any belief north of Christianity in this country is shunned, ridiculed, dismissed, or even persecuted. Red Kitty Volume Two: Sycorax is both a welcome specter, yet alternately frustrating.

Visually, Red Kitty Volume Two is absolutely gorgeous, including black & white and color photography. The content leaves me scratching my head, and I guess is not to be taken seriously despite the editorial introduction which states "This issue has a fun spirit ... but it was the desire to reclaim 'witch' as a symbol of power, not derision, that led us to choose Sycorax as our theme."

So, within its pages we are treated (or maybe tricked) to a list of the ten best witches ever (most of whom are fictional - why does one need fictional witches when there are so many flesh & blood witches to celebrate?) and ... some silly "spells" found on the internet. Even the photographic portfolio titled "Elementals" seems like it belongs in a zine that parodies pagan poseurs. I'm confused as to the actual intent behind Red Kitty Volume Two ... it disappoints whether it's meant to be serious or humorous or both simultaneously.  

You can find a copy here:  https://www.etsy.com/listing/197792356/issue-two-sycorax?ref=sr_gallery_1&ga_search_query=red+kitty+zine&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery